2012 Hayward Award Winners

COMMUNITY COLLEGE PROFESSORS HONORED FOR EXCELLENCE California Community College Board of Governors confers honor upon three faculty members for superior service on their campuses.

SACRAMENTO, Calif.-March 6, 2012-The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges is proud to announce the 2011 - 12 recipients of the Hayward Award. Three faculty members were selected from across the state for their commitment to professional excellence in their field, as well as their contributions to their community.


Robert Boyd, a philosophy educator at Fresno City college, is committed to the diverse needs found on the campus of his community college.

Boyd teaches religious traditions in ways that take into account the sensitivity that comes along with having a diverse student body and is constantly challenging students to approach subjects with different perspectives. His teaching style and accomplishments serve as evidence that he is dedicated to improving the educational environment and helping students succeed.

"[Robert Boyd] teaches religion and has used sabbaticals efficiently to remain current and knowledgeable about other faiths, by traveling to other countries and experiencing cultures and religions first-hand. [He] represents the college well and has done so in many areas and in many ways," senate president Claudia Habib said in her letter of support.


Dorothy Williams can be safely described as a major contributor in the discipline of learning assistance.

Dorothy Williams is well-respected by her peers and is recognized as someone who develops, provides, and builds upon educational programs and services while maintaining high academic standards. She is truly committed to students, particularly in terms of the development of processes and strategies to help students receive academic support to meet their diverse student needs. Her breadth of experience, career achievements and local and statewide activities exemplify her commitment to student retention, persistence and success.

"A number one priority of our colleges, included in its mission statement, is 'student success and student centered learning.' [Dorothy Williams] has dedicated her entire career to this as evidenced by the activities she has lead successfully at the college." wrote Christos Valiotis, senate president at Antelope Valley College.


Jaima Bennett, a communications instructor at Golden West College, is a tireless leader in student success and diversity on her campus.

Bennett's students have directly benefited from her passion for teaching. Bennett has worked closely with veterans, Puente, EOPS, disabled, underprepared, and basic skills students; her dedication to diversity and creating an atmosphere of inclusiveness is apparent in all aspects of her career. She has spent 30 years teaching students how to communicate effectively, a skill that is crucial to the success of students. Bennett is dedicated to making a difference in both teaching and learning.

"Our Hayward nominee is an extraordinary professor and faculty leader on our campus, and her zeal for students, colleagues, college, and her profession has changed the lives of all those fortunate enough to know her," said Theresa Lavarini, Golden West College Senate President.

All of the Award recipients were honored at the March 6, 2012 Board of Governors' meeting with a plaque and a cash award of $1,250 from the Foundation for California Community Colleges. The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges fosters the effective participation by community college faculty in all statewide and local academic and professional matters; develops, promotes, and acts upon policies responding to statewide concerns; and serves as the official voice of the faculty of California Community Colleges in academic and professional matters. The Academic Senate strengthens and supports the local senates of all California community colleges.