Part-Time Faculty Committee

The Part-time Faculty Committee provides recommendations to the Executive committee on academic and professional matters that affect part-time faculty members. The committee recognizes that part-time faculty make up the majority of California community college faculty and serve disproportionately-impacted students. This committee advocates for diverse part-time faculty colleagues, ensuring their access to professional and leadership development offerings as well as shared governance opportunities at the local and statewide levels. The part-time faculty committee collaborates with the executive committee to develop and provide opportunities where part-time faculty gain additional insight on issues germane to academic and professional needs. This committee is also focused on promoting diversity within part-time faculty pools with the goal of having educators who reflect the student population, and this committee further commits to empowering part-time faculty voices who have been historically excluded (e.g., colleagues of color). 

Committee Liaisons:

ASCCC Local Senate Liaisons that are connected to the committee include the Part-Time Faculty Liaison
○    This committee will send periodic communications to local senate Legislative liaisons that have been identified and signed up for the Part-Time Faculty Listserv.

ASCCC Part-Time Faculty Resources Website:  Part-Time Faculty Nexus 

Current Members
Member Term
Maria-José Zeledón-Pérez 2023-24 Chair
LaTonya Parker 2023-24
Peter Zavala Rodriguez 2023-24
Annette Owens 2023-24
Frank Aguirre 2023-24
Carlos Scalisi 2023-24
Sonja Downing 2023-24
Elbina Rafizadeh 2023-24
Francis Howard 2023-24

Current Agendas/minutes




Past members

Past Members
Term: 2022-23
Member Term Sort ascending
Joseph Ferrerosa 2022-23
Ian Colmer 2022-23
Elbina Rafizadeh 2022-23
Suji Venkataraman 2022-23
Sonja Downing 2022-23
Lorraine Levy 2022-23
Lindsay Weiler 2022-23
Mussie Okbamichael 2022-23
Anastasia Zavodny 2022-23
Robert L. Stewart Jr. 2022-23
Stephanie Curry 2022-23 Chair
Term: 2021-22
Member Term Sort ascending
Anthony Stevens 2021-22
Juan Arzola 2021-22
Ian Colmer 2021-22
Tejal Naik 2021-22
Mussie Okbamichael 2021-22
Anastasia Zavodny 2021-22
Carrie Roberson 2021-22 Chair
Term: 2020-21
Member Term Sort ascending
Michelle Bean 2020-21 Chair
Alpha Lewis 2020-21
Theodore Kagan 2020-21
Steven Chang 2020-21
Chelsea Hull 2020-21
Luis Zanartu 2020-21
Grace Chee 2020-21
Emilie Mitchell 2020-21
Karen Chow 2020-21

Past Agenda/minutes


Attachment Size
11.2021 ASCCC PTF Memo.pdf 121.65 KB